Serbian Amps ahoy!

Frankie Lee

Serbian Amps ahoy!

Post by Frankie Lee »

I'm looking for a low cost amp to put into a cabinet In the sitting room. I'd like something that runs cool and will power two sets of speakers independantly or simultaneously. The Onkyo A-5VL seems to be a good option. It's a "digital" amp that means it runs very cool. I've no experience of these kind of amps so I was wondering if anyone had any exprience of them, or if anyone had some other recommendations?

EDIT: Changed thread title.
Last edited by Frankie Lee on Tue Apr 20, 2010 2:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Check out our new iPad app: http://www.lowdownmtb.com
paulb

Re: Digital amps - any good?

Post by paulb »

before you go for the onkyo you should have a look at any of the digital amps on ebay....dont look at the small watts they really are better than you would expect...get one with a tripath cip 2024 really musical...never heard one with 2020 cip but should be more powerfull.you can get them on ebay starting at 30 e....spend a little more to get proper binding posts,rca imput...
Frankie Lee

Post by Frankie Lee »

Is this the kind of thing you mean?

http://cgi.ebay.ie/Class-T-Amp-Integrat ... 8765521676

Looks amazing value. What about the Pro-ject box series? They look like they'll fit the bill, but I'm not sure where to get them. The other thing I like the look of is the Firestone Audio stuff. Their MASS preamp coupled with the BigJoeIV monoblocks look the job. Anyone got experience of these?

Ideally I'd like something that has a remote.
Frankie Lee

Post by Frankie Lee »

OK I think I'm going to be reckless and go for one of these:

http://www.dayens.rs/eng_ampino.html

Gets great feedback. Total cost for the upgraded model is €355 but I'm optimistic it'll be money well spent. Anyone heard one of these?
DancingPriest

Re: Serbian Amps ahoy!

Post by DancingPriest »

2 Watts, What sort of speakers are you going to be driving?
A fullrange horn?
paulb

Post by paulb »