LP Cleaning

tweber

LP Cleaning

Post by tweber »

Hi Lads, wondering if anyone can recommend something for cleaning LPs. I came across this on a few sites, anyone use it before or anything better to suggest?

Thanks,Shane.
fergus

Re: LP Cleaning

Post by fergus »

Hi Shane,

I have no experience with the product above as I have cleaned my vinyl with the standard isopropyl alcohol mix. However I have decided to give the following product a trial as I have read good things about it....

To be is to do: Socrates
To do is to be: Sartre
Do be do be do: Sinatra
cybot

Post by cybot »

Plenty of info here including info on the special liquid recommended by Fergus....

I've tried different methods of cleaning records over the years and, while I've never had any problems, you can really drive yourself nuts agonising over the best way of preserving your precious vinyl. Read the Hi FI World article above for proof :) Many times I've thought about reinvesting in a proper record cleaning machine. I used to own a second hand Keith Monks and while it was great and gave me peace of mind I still wonder.....

Anyway like most impoverished audiophiles I too use a mixture of Isopropyll/distilled water but only when absolutely necessary. I came across a hassle free way of cleaning records a while ago which works an absolute treat. All you need is an small atomiser (Boots) and three fine micro fibre cloths - I know, I know :)