CAPSv4

Anything to do with computer audio, hardware, software etc.
Steve

CAPSv4

Post by Steve »

Hi Guys,

Total newbie to CA so will undoubtably display major ignorance here...

Current source is a Wadia581SE. Whatever about the foibles I endure regarding its transport section, I've always been very satisfied with sonics, presentation, resolution, musicality, etc., etc. In short, no issue at all with SQ.

But now getting extremely tempted to tuck all cd's away safely in the attic and be able to play 'em all and more via the iPad..

So have looked at options such as Meridian, SoTM, Aurender, etc. Now very interested in the CAPS line as per Computer Audiophile site. Specifically the CAPSv4 Maroubra.
www.computeraudiophile.com/content/620-caps-v4-maroubra-and-bundoran/

Has anyone experiences of this line? Or of dealing with the guys in Small Green Computer who sell them pre-assembled?

I'm not really one for tweaking - more into switching on the HW and simply enjoying the music collection.

Thoughts regarding the DAC will be for another day. What I'm thinking of is getting the CA frontend sorted first, start into ripping all my discs and then start checking out potential DAC options.
Chord Electronics DAVE - Aesthetix Calypso - Pass Labs XA100.8 - Wilson Audio Alexia - Nordost Quattro Fil/SPM
nige2000

Re: CAPSv4

Post by nige2000 »

i could build you something with more bang for buck

is your cd player something similar to simons?
sd card player, modded soekris dac, class a lifepo4 amp or gb class a/b amp, diy open baffle speakers based on project audio mundorf trio 10's
Steve

Post by Steve »

Yep, exact same player as Simon's. (Complete with transport which very much has a personality of its own!)

What did you have in in mind? Just wondering what your thoughts are on the CAPSv4?
Chord Electronics DAVE - Aesthetix Calypso - Pass Labs XA100.8 - Wilson Audio Alexia - Nordost Quattro Fil/SPM
Sligolad

Post by Sligolad »