Beginner wants to play flag from hard drive and stream

Anything to do with computer audio, hardware, software etc.
Onion

Beginner wants to play flag from hard drive and stream

Post by Onion »

Hi All,

I am new to computer audio, in that my experience to date is just limited to playing flacs from my external hard drive directly conneted via usb to my laptop. So, essentially non-hifi computer audio!

I would like to achieve two objections:

1/ Play flacs from my HDD on my hifi system - I have a couple of thousand songs on my external hard drive, and what I would like to do is connect this to my hifi system (my amp is a Marantz PM6005, which has digital inputs – coax and optical, connect to some Harbeth P3ESRs). In terms of IT equipment, I have: a laptop, iPhone and iPAD. However, I have no broadband, just 4G from Vodafone through a dongle, with a 15GB monthly limit.
2/ Play Spotify streams on my hifi system – I have a Spotify account, I guess there is limitations here in terms of lack of a router as indicated above. (At the moment I use Spotify from my iPhone which is connected via Bluetooth to a NAD Viso wireless speaker).

What would you do as a cost effective solution (sub €500, the lower the better)?

Many thanks
tony

Re: Beginner wants to play flag from hard drive and stream

Post by tony »

Hiya Would suggest get a dac. You can buy one for €30 or €10K! Plenty around in the budget you have set. John Kenny from this parish has a nice battery dac kinda close to your budget. Comfortably under budget if found secondhand. Lots of half decent dacs available in the ad pages of hifiwigam and PinkFishMedia.

Are you Dublin based? Sure myself or another could arrange to let you hear a Ciunas or whatever dacs people have to give you a flavour of what you might get.

My suggestions above are around dac plugged into your laptop and onwards to the amp(RCA's)

Squeezebox is another choice available only secondhand. Not as good as dedicated Dac.