How do I begin?

tipdrinker

How do I begin?

Post by tipdrinker »

Hi Guys,

I was just wondering if you had any advice for a total beginner. I built my own htpc a couple of years ago and I was just thinking today about how terrible it is to listen to music through my tv speakers. I'd love to build a hifi system over time so I could have a really nice audio set up in my sitting room. I've always wanted my own hifi, but the options and how you go about it seems so daunting I don't know where to begin. What should be my first purchace? amp? speakers? a book? what's a good amount to spend for something that would hopefully give me at least a good 20 years audio enjoyment?

I'd really appreciate some help in the right direction. In return I could maybe give some video/camera advice (im a videographer and enthusiast photographer by trade)

Cheers in advance :-)
tony

Re: How do I begin?

Post by tony »

That is an open question! Where does one start to help you on this journey. I would suggest go out to Cloneys have a listen to some stuff out there. The Listening Suite in Wicklow street should be visited also.

Do you want to listen using a dac with your HTPC or does vinyl or CD float your boat.

People are fairly open here if you get some idea of where you want to go and want to hear some systems.

What kind of budget are you thinking? You can spend a few hundred or thousands
GroupBuySD DAC/First Watt AlephJ/NigeAmp/Audio PC's/Lampi L4.5 Dac/ Groupbuy AD1862 DHT Dac /Quad ESL63's.Tannoy Legacy Cheviots.
nige2000

Post by nige2000 »

Run for your life?
Or if that won't work
PC to DAC to amp to speakers is good bang for buck if you don't go too crazy
Lots of expertise here for that and everything else
sd card player, modded soekris dac, class a lifepo4 amp or gb class a/b amp, diy open baffle speakers based on project audio mundorf trio 10's
Audioq

Post by Audioq »