Mutec MC-3+ Smart Clock

Equipment, accessory and music reviews
Sligolad

Mutec MC-3+ Smart Clock

Post by Sligolad »

I bought a Mutec MC-3+ Smart Clock on a hunch last month to use as an USB to SPDIF convertor to try SPDIF in on my DAC as I have never used one before for PC based playback.
It has turned out to be a good buy at just under €1k with improved sound on DPDIF over the Amanero USB card though not by as much as I initially thought when I first listened to it.
After going back and comparing recently I decided to see if I could improve it any further and after seeing the Meanwell SMPS inside I went for a quick mod to add a Linear supply so as to bypass the 6.3v output from the internal PS.
It was an easy mod to connect onto the output pins which transfer off the PS board down to the Main Board.

It allows running the Mutec off the Linear supply by unplugging the mains in and switching on the 6.3v Linear supply which I have soldered to the plus / minus out coming off the internal PS.
To go back to main supply I just disconnect the Linear and the unit is back to factory condition.

The Linear supply is a real nice improvement and easy to hear over the stock supply.
I am using an Audiowind DC to DC Regulator fed off as Paul Hynes SR7 12v supply and it barely gets warm when running.

More listening tests to run over the coming week but for sure it will be running off a Linear Supply from here on in with the improvement in sound over the stock supply.
Will post some pictures for all below.
Cheers, Pearse.

Re: Mutec MC-3+ Smart Clock

Post by Sligolad »

Main Board with USB board on it below:

Main Board with USB board taken off:

USB Board removed:

Meanwell SMPS Board:

1000Mhz Clock:

Back of USB Board:

6.3v Power Out Pins off PS Board with positive left and negative right:

6.3v Supply lines soldered to Power Out Pins off PS Board with positive red left and negative yellow right: