Guardian Guide to Symphonies

james

Guardian Guide to Symphonies

Post by james »

https://www.theguardian.com/music/s ... s

A list of the top 50 symphonies according to the Guardian. I could argue about who is left out (Honnegger ?) but of those included having Shostakovich represented by No 15 (rather than No 5 or No 10) just seems strange.

But -- its a good list if it encourages you to listen to old stuff (again) or even better to new stuff.

Also they include Beethoven No.8 but not No.7 .. Strange.
"Change is Possible" [Parking Meter in Dundrum Shopping Centre]
Diapason

Re: Guardian Guide to Symphonies

Post by Diapason »

I've a soft spot for the 8th because I studied it for v Leaving Cert music, but I don't think of it as being up there with the big boys.

In other news I heard the Saint Saens 3rd this evening in St Patrick's and the effect was magical. It's really something to hear the Symphony Orchestra in a bigger acoustic, and I really do love that piece. Warhorse or not, I think it's great music.
Nerdcave: ...is no more! :(
Sitting Room: Wadia 581SE - Rega Planar 3/AT VM95ML & SH - Bluesound Node II - Copland CSA 100 - Audioplan Kontrast 3
Kitchen: WiiM Pro - Wadia 151 - B&W 685s2
mcq

Post by mcq »

I love the brevity of the Eighth.  The master at his most succinct and most pared down and, I believe, one of his personal favourites.  The polar opposite of the mammoth Ninth in that the emotional expressivity that was the hallmark of Romanticism in general and Beethoven's symphonies in particular (and which reached its zenith in the Ninth) is reined in and you hear something more compressed and personal.  Certainly one symphony I have listened to a lot more in recent years and which I would reach for in preference to the Fifth, Sixth and Ninth (unless those works are subjected to the rinsing critical gaze of a Harnoncourt or a Gielen).