Recent remastered versions

Rock/Blues/Jazz/World/Folk/Country etc.
Brutus1968

Recent remastered versions

Post by Brutus1968 »

Hi everybody,
Few days ago in a record shop I have seen the remastered version of two records that I like: Metallica's Black Album and Ry Cooder's Buena Vista Social Club. I am tempted, but I know that often a remastered version could be a delusion as you realise that the original one sounds better.
Has anyone here already had the possibility to critically listen to any of the above? Comments?

Thanks
Max (spin the black circle)
Naimaste

Re: Recent remastered versions

Post by Naimaste »

I have no direct knowledge of these, sorry.
Steve Hoffmann forum is usually good for chat on remasters. You may know already though!

This https://forums.stevehoffman.tv/threads/ ... d.1090215/ is a discussion originating in June 21 about the BVSC 25th anniversary remasters and also discusses previous issues of the album.
Metallica https://forums.stevehoffman.tv/threads/ ... 1.1093964/
Brutus1968

Post by Brutus1968 »

Thanks for the link; I am not a regular reader of that forum.
Anyway today I couldn't resist and I bought the Beuna Vista box (2LP, 2CD, book) for two reasons: it has been remastered by Bernie Grundman and, given the quality of the musicians, I expect good music from the bonus tracks. I have listened to the first cd today and the quality is top, but it was already excellent at first release. At least they didn't mess anything up.
Reading the comments about the Black Album, I am tempted by that one as well. I won't buy the full box set, but I will have to decide between LP and CD. The version that I have is on vinyl.

Best
Diapason

Post by Diapason »

For me, both of those albums sounded superb in their original form. I can't see the remasters as anything other than a cash grab...
Nerdcave: ...is no more! :(
Sitting Room: Wadia 581SE - Rega Planar 3/AT VM95ML & SH - Bluesound Node II - Copland CSA 100 - Audioplan Kontrast 3